Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients

The Distinguished Alumni Award program began in 1979 to honor distinguished alumni in recognition of their personal and professional achievements, contributions to the achievement of the college’s and/or foundation’s mission, community leadership that promotes partnerships with the college, and/or significant contributions to society or the community. Beginning 2004, the award is bestowed every even-numbered year.

Year of Award Recipient Position at time of Award
1979 James Mork Judge, Minnesota District Court
1980 LaVonne Painter Physician
1981 Colleen Ashton Actress
1982 Phyllis (Dankers) Yes Artist & Educator
1983 Stephen Wright Engineer
1985 Tom Nelson Senator, State of Minnesota
1987 Mary Weber Keenan County Commissioner
1988 Paul Goodnature Educator
1989 Charles Jahren ACC Instructor
1990 James Flannery ACC President
1991 Jerry Anfinson Certified Public Accountant
1992 Fred Robinson Business Owner, Robinson Business Forms
1993 Joe Mott Minister, Crane Community Chapel
1994 J. Douglas Myers Superintendent, Austin Public Schools
1995 Greg Meyer Business Owner, State Farm Insurance
2004 C. Jerry Nelson Professor of Agronomy, University of Missouri - Columbia
2006 Ardell Brede Mayor of Rochester, Minnesota
2008 J. Thomas Mott Judge, Minnesota District Court
2010 Scott Richardson Attorney-at-Law
2012 Dr. Donna R. Schumacher Nursing Education Specialist for the Multidisciplinary Simulation Center, Mayo Clinic
2014 John J. Gray Jr.