Campus Buzz
Home / Campus Buzz

Riverland Community College’s Phi Theta Kappa Chapter receives regional and national recognition
Contact: James Douglass, Director of Communications, Riverland Community College: (507) 433-0611,

The Riverland Community College Zeta Eta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa has been named second runner up to the Most Distinguished Chapter in the Minn-Wi-Kota region, which includes all chapters in Minnesota, North and South Dakota, and Wisconsin. In addition, Riverland’s chapter was named as one of the top 100 chapters in the international organization of Phi Theta Kappa, made up of more than 1,250 chapters.

Awards are given to chapters that compete in the Hallmark Awards. This is Phi Theta Kappa's competitive awards program that recognizes individuals, chapters and regions for excellence in the Society's Hallmarks of Scholarship, Leadership, Service and Fellowship.

This was the first year that the Zeta Eta Chapter competed in the Hallmark program. The chapter was awarded first runner-up for the Scholarship Hallmark and second runner-up for both the Leadership and Service Hallmarks in the region. They also achieved four out of five possible stars in another Phi Theta Kappa program. The Riverland chapter was also elected to be the vice president chapter of the region for the 2008-2009 academic year. In addition to assisting with all regional activities, they will host a regional workshop in the fall.

Riverland chapter officers for 2007-2008 are Gabrielle Holvick, president; Shannon Doll, senior vice president; Christina Boyer, vice president of leadership; Zachary Kestner, vice president of fellowship; Casey Roser, vice president of service; Rune Roskov, vice president of scholarship; Luis Valle, recording secretary. Faculty member Sue Grove is the chapter advisor.

Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year colleges, symbolizes excellence in higher education and a commitment to students. Phi Theta Kappa's mission is two-fold: (1) recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and (2) provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service and fellowship programming.

Phi Theta Kappa has recognized and encouraged two-year college students for 80 years, providing stimulation and enrichment while promoting the academic integrity of the associate degree program. For these reasons, the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) has designated Phi Theta Kappa as the official honor society for two-year colleges.

Riverland Community College, a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system, is a regional comprehensive community college inspiring learning for living through a personalized educational environment. Approximately 4,000 students are served, annually, through a wide range of credit-based educational opportunities. An additional 4,800 students are annually served in non-credit courses. Facilities are located in Albert Lea, Austin, and Owatonna, Minn. Riverland may be found on the Internet at

The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system comprises 32 state universities and community and technical colleges serving the higher education needs of Minnesota. The system serves about 240,000 students per year in credit-based courses and an additional 130,000 students in non-credit courses.